david-a-johnsonDr. David A Johnson is Professor of Medicine and Chief of Gastroenterology at Eastern VA Medical School Norfolk VA. Despite his primary focus on the clinical practice of gastroenterology, he has published extensively in the internal medicine/gastroenterology literature, contributing over 600 articles/chapters/invited reviews and abstracts in peer-reviewed journals and books. He most recently was the editor and coauthor of the book “Human Microbiome in Health and Disease-Translational Opportunities for Intervention?” published Dec 2015. Additionally, he co-edited the American College of Physicians (ACP) book “Dyspepsia” and edited the 2005 and 2010 GI Clinics of North America series on “Obesity Issues for Gastroenterologists” and the 2012 American College of Physicians module on CRC screening. His primary current research interests are esophageal reflux disease, the gut microbiome and effects of sleep fragmentation and colon cancer screening.

He is a Past President of the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) and served the ACG previously as Governor (VA), chair of ACG Quality Council Task Force, and member of the Educational Affairs, Publications, Constitution and Bylaws (Chair), Nominating (Chair) committees. Additionally since inception, he has served on the executive committee as Treasurer of the ACG/ASGE Quality Improvement Consortium (GIQuIC) 2007-14 and the executive committee for the GI Political Action Committee (GIPAC) 2008-12. He has co-chaired the ACG National Fellows meeting for 17 yrs and previously been Course Director for the ACG Annual Post-Graduated course in 1994.

He served as Medicare Advisor for technical issues for endoscopy – 1994-6. He co-founded the National Medicare Carrier advisory Committee and co-chaired that committee for 10 yrs. Since 2000, he has served on both the GI Multi-society CRC Screening Task Force and ACG guidelines committee for CRC screening and has co-authored these screening guidelines and other the other ongoing publications from 2000-present. Additionally, he was a member of the CDC Task Force for quality colonoscopy. While President of the ACG, he formed the consensus groups with the American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association and from 2007-2011, he worked as a coauthor on the 3 separate consensus documents which were developed and published (on NSAID and antiplatelet issues for cardiology and gastroenterology).

He has delivered multiple named lectures- including at the national ACG meetings- American Journal of Gastroenterology lecture 2005, Emily Couric Lecture – 2009 and the Berk Presidential Lecture 2015. In May 2012, he was acknowledged as the invited lecturer at the National Institutes of Health as a “Great Teacher” (this is awarded to 2 non-NIH physicians/yr and streamed to 2200 sites around the world –target audience is 50,000-100,000 viewers).

He has been honored by the American College of Gastroenterology as “Master of Gastroenterology”, in 2013 received the Berk-Fise award for lifetime achievements and contributions to gastroenterology and the ACG. In 2015, he received the William D Carey American College of Gastroenterology Board of Governors Award for lifetime distinguished contributions. In 2006 he received the “Presidential Award” by the Va GI Society and in 2000, he received the Distinguished Internal Medicine Faculty Award (2000) and in 2012, the Dean’s EVMS Outstanding Community Faculty Award from Eastern Va Medical School. In May 2016, he received the American Gastroenterology Association “Distinguished Educator” award- given to one person for life time contributions of GI teaching.

He currently serves on the American Board of Internal Medicine (Gastroenterology) Board of Examiners. He has served as the Gastroenterology Technical Advisory chair for the National Quality Forum (NQF) and as well is steering committee member quality outcomes NQF task force and participated in all GI related task force activities from 2005-2011) and chaired 3 of the 4 task force meetings. He has been a technical advisor to Medicare (1995-7) for time component evaluations.

He is the past co-editor of Reviews in Gastroenterological Disorders, as well as Journal Medicine and section editor for the American Journal of Gastroenterology and founding co-editor of the American College of Gastroenterology GI Universe, GI section editor for Medscape Gastroenterology, Medscape GI Viewpoints, and Medscape GI Consultant Corner, as well as the esophageal section editor for Journal Watch Gastroenterology (New England Journal of Medicine). He is on numerous editorial boards and reviews for 21 medical journals including all of the GI journals. He was a member/reviewer of the National Institutes of Health study section for esophageal/gastric diseases and has provided consultant testimonies to the FDA.

He was the physician who worked with Virginia State Senator Emily Couric to put through the historic first legislation to mandate colon cancer screening with colonoscopy as the preferred standard. This initiative first in VA, has set the model for other states which have followed with similar legislation mandating CRC screening.